Kingdom Hearts II Review

Caleb Petry
4 min readFeb 15, 2021

Kingdom Hearts is a franchise that seems misunderstood in my eyes. There are 3 mainline games but in order to understand what the hell is going on you must play the 7 other games that range from minor stories to plot warping, time-hopping, genre switching spinoffs. It’s nuts. And I didn’t do that the first time I played this franchise. I only played the 3 mainline ones a few months ago and already I wanted to hop back into Sora’s world. Kingdom Hearts II was my favorite of the trilogy my first time so I decided to just skip to that one. Soooo yeah this is my super spoiler review of Kingdom Hearts II.

Kingdom Hearts II wastes no time to get you to start asking questions like Where’s Sora? Who the hell is Roxas? What’s with the strange electronic flashbacks to the first game? You start off the game playing as Roxas who is surprisingly memorable for his short play time. You do jobs with your new friends, beat up anime dudes with a baseball bat, and discover a new enemy, The Nobodies. The beginning of the game is slow, confusing, and a little annoying knowing that your spending hours playing as someone who you won't see until the very end of the game.

BUT THEN, Roxas discovers he is connected to Sora so he does what anyone else does. He breaks into a mansion to discover he is in a digital copy of the world called Twilight Town and that he doesn't actually exist. So Roxas smashes…

--

--